Vital Energy: Beginner's Guide to the Chakras

Teacher Post by Claire Staszak

I am excited to be teaching Vital Energy Centers: A Beginner’s Guide to the Chakras on Saturday, April 5th from 5pm – 7pm at Tula. The first hour of the workshop will be spent learning about the seven chakras or main energy centers of the subtle (non-physical) body, and then we’ll spend the second hour flowing through a practice to awaken each chakra!

Here’s a little taste of what you’ll learn.

Illustration of the Chakra system.

Illustration of the Chakra system.

The seven chakras and their locations are:

1. Muladhara – Root (between genitals and anus)

2. Svadhishthana – Below Navel

3. Manipura – Solar Plexus (navel or right above)

4. Anahata – Heart (breast bone)

5. Vishuddhi – Throat

6. Ajna – Third Eye (point between eyebrows)

7. Sahasrara – Crown of Head

Each chakra is associated with a color, element, sound, sacred truth, issue, goal, malfunction and asana. For instance, the root chakra’s element is earth and the sacred truth is, “all are one.” The main issue concerning this chakra is that of survival. Goals for an individual to achieve with this charka feeling balanced are stability, a grounded life, physical health and stillness. If you are having issues with this energy center you may experience constipation, frequent illness, fears or over eating.

I learned about the chakras and human energy fields during my teacher training with Hot Yoga of New Zealand in 2011, and I’m looking forward to sharing another layer of yogic knowledge with the Tula community. Recommend reading if you’re interested in the energy anatomy of the human body and spirit is, Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing, by Caroline Myss, PhD.